Lovely Reminders

by kuylerquijas

I once loved a girl like the ocean
Deep and wavy.
Sometimes storms would roll in
Only to be followed by the deepest blues
And glistening sunshine.

I once loved a girl like outer space.
She shined like the stars and comets.
She was so out of reach
And with her I could hardly breathe.

I once loved a girl like the jungle.
Mother Earth birthed her
With sticks all in her hair
And with her I got lost at every turn.

I once loved a girl like the desert.
My mouth so dry with hers on mine.
She had me sweating like a school boy.
She had to be a mirage.

And I once loved a girl like a prairie.
She wore flowers in her hair
And she’d roll around ’til she was dizzy.
I liked her most with our shoes off.

I’ve already loved girls that remind me of everywhere.
So much love it shook me down to my knees.
And I still love those girls
I still love those girls
Yeah I still love those girls
From Jupiter to the bottom of the sea.

