What can be Built in a Day

by kuylerquijas

Stuck with a hangover that is as bad in my stomach as it is in my head,
I am left with a bite mark on my shoulder.
I would have tattooed it there if you were a different person,
But I still rub my finger over it and wondering if I missed the foreshadow.
Beers at nine in the morning tasted good with you.
I had only shared the bond with one other friend before.
Naps on the couch were hopeful.
So many girls had made me sweat through my clothes before,
But being drunk can be a terrible thing.
If it weren’t for the demons who hide inside us
It could just be seen as childish,
But there they stay until your unconscious being pulled by strings.
They slur the words you’d never thing of.
They laugh about the things you will cry about tomorrow.
They are ugly but they are a part of us.
I’ve tried to excuse myself plenty of times,
But I’m glad you didn’t try the same.
You couldn’t believe what you did,
But I believe you felt shame.
It could have been bad timing,
Or maybe we would always encounter this.
It’s possible that two people can be bad for each other,
Despite it making sense for love to come out of it.
I try not to think too deeply into it
Because I know I did my best.
The impression of your teeth will change colors,
And it will be less swollen tomorrow.
I’ll choose to think of it like the most heart turning short film
And appreciate the art of how quickly you can be comfortable then
destroyed.
I would have hated you when I was younger
But I am no longer a little boy.
I can forgive girls who are different when they are drunk.
It’s hard,
And I don’t really want to,
But I know that I should,
And that’s what I’ll do now.
I’ll put you on a canvas,
And admire the time that I thought I had you.

